Everyone Meet my Shakespeare Professor—-MY NEW INSPIRATION

My Bio

I’ve been teaching at Delta since August 2001 and have taught:

English 45: Reading Shakespeare

English 1A: Written Communications (three different content courses: accelerated for transfer students, for nursing majors and for multimedia majors)

English 1B: Critical Thinking about Literature

English 1D:Critical Thinking about Current Events

English 79: College English Prep

Eng/Journalism 53: Freelance Writing

I have also appeared in Delta drama’s productions of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Macbeth, and The Crucible and am playing Lorraine in the upcoming production of A Lie of the Mind that opens March 1.

I currently teach face-to-face classes: Eng 45, 1A and 1D at the Stockton campus, and one online 1A class.

I am theadviser for theWriters’ Guild and publish Artifact, a lit/art magazine for students, staff and faculty. Before joining the faculty at Delta, I wrote feature stories for The Record for 10 years. My story  “A Killing on Dagget Road,” won second place in California in 2003 for  “General Writing” (not beat journalism) from the California Newspaper Publishers Association (CNPA).

From 1996 to 2001, I co-published Zambomba!, a free quarterly poetry journal with Julia Holzer. In the early 1990s, I hosted an open mic at Safari Coffee and Tea before moving it to various other venues. My poetry has been published in small journals across the nation and in the UK.In 1997, the Stockton Arts Commission awarded me the STAR award for my long-time arts involvement in theater, dance and literature. My past arts accomplishments include the founding of Stockton Civic Children’s Theater in 1978.

I am a former member and past president of the Stockton Arts Commission and currently am a board member of the Stockton Arts Foundation and the chair of the Marian Jacobs Literary Forum.

I live in Midtown, close to the home of the Stockton Ports, where I am also a season ticket holder and enjoy those games with my husband, Fred, and three grown sons and their friends. Every member of my family is a diehard  Giants fan.

My oldest son is a lieutenant in the fire service and former Delta student. My second son is a Petty Officer Second Class in the Navy and is the control tower supervisor on the US Nimitz aircraft carrier. He earned his AA from Delta. My youngest son is a graduate of San Diego State University and is a lieutenant in the Army Reserves. Both of my military sons will be deployed in spring.

During the summers, I crew on a 42-foot racing sailboat out of Key West, Florida. In the past three years, I have sailed from the Azores, Portugal to Amsterdam, Netherlands, and throughout the Mediterranean, including the coast of North Africa. This summer I may sail the coast of South America to Panama or I may teach English in China.

In addition, I published an o-ed piece in the New York Times on Monday, July 23, 2012, and it was picked up and ran in the International Herald Tribune in Europe on Thursday, July 26. The link is:

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/07/23/opinion/the-bankruptcy-and-the-burglar-in-stockton-california.html?_r=1&hp
 

As a follow up, I appeared on Capital Public Radio on Tuesday, July 31, to talk about the arts in Stockton on “Insight.” I am interviewed in the second segment:

 

Leave a Reply

